Prof Iain Wilkinson Essay Prize 2024

We are delighted to invite submissions from undergraduate* medical students in UK Medical Schools for the 2024 Prof Iain Wilkinson Essay Prize. The prize is awarded in honour of Prof Iain Wilkinson, Professor of Magnetic Resonance Physics at the University of Sheffield who died in 2020. Prof Wilkinson was a leading figure in UK clinical brain imaging research and a long-standing friend and associate member of the British Society of Neuroradiologists.

The title for the essay is: Should all neuroradiology examinations be reviewed by specialist neuroradiologists? How to manage the increasing neuroradiology reporting backlog when workload significantly outstrips the specialist reporting workforce.

The winner will receive a prize of £250 and the runner-up will receive £150. The winning essay will be published on the British Society of Neuroradiologists website.

When submitting your essay please note:

  • The word limit is 1,500 words, excluding title, the author’s details andreferences.
  • Up to 20 references (in any standard style) should be included
  • Please submit your essay as a Word document. We do not accept PDFs or other formats.
  • Use size 11 Arial font, with line spacing of 1.5.Include your name, year of study and medical school at the beginning of the document.
    Essays will be marked for quality of content and how the arguments proposed address the question, as well as the overall structure and the clarity of writing. Entries may be checked for plagiarism.Entries should be submitted to The closing date is Sunday 31st August 5pm.The winner will be announced at the British Society of Neuroradiologists Annual Scientific Meeting in Bristol October 2024.*This includes medical students who have or are undertaking intercalated degrees, and graduate entry medical students