ICSMSU Vision is a society established over five years ago, with the aim of widening participation in medicine.  We believe that doctors should be representative of the population they serve and as such entry to medical school should be on the basis of aptitude and suitability to the profession alone.

What Do We Do?

Our aim is to support students from our local state schools who are interested in studying medicine, but lack the appropriate support at school. We run:

  • Junior Conference (November) – for pupils in years 10 – 12 to motivate students to consider medicine as a career. The conference involves a number of fun practical stands and a programme of motivational talks by eminent members of the faculty.
  • Senior Conference (September) – for year 13 students committed to applying to medicine. The conference consists of individual personal statement feedback and an individual mock interview for each student, tutorials on ethics, BMAT/UKCAT and interview technique and a programme of inspirational talks.
  • Roadshow – visiting schools throughout the year to speak in assemblies and run tutorials.

All these events are targeted at our local schools, which receive discounted tickets and support throughout the year.

How Can You Be Involved?

We are ALWAYS looking for enthusiastic new volunteers from all years.  We need volunteers for both conferences and for Roadshow – to run tutorials and mock interviews, visit schools and help out generally.  It’s a great way to pass on all that expertise you gained during your own application!

To get involved:

  • Buy membership (which is free!) by following the link on the right hand side of this page to become part of our mailing list for volunteering and committee opportunities.
  • Find us at the Fresher’s Fayre
  • Join our Facebook group

Our Committee come from all years and are responsible for running our events and for keeping in contact with our school list.  We elect the new committee in the spring and welcome applications from all years – we’re looking for enthusiastic people; experience is not necessary!

Buy Membership
Committee Details:

President: Peter Zhang

Treasurer: Utkarsh Ojha

Secretary: Nimai Vadgama